Quick and Delicious Dairy Ricotta Cheese Crostata

I’ve been hooked lately on the Great British Baking Show on Netflix. I usually do not like to watch series specifically because it sucks me in, and then I have no time for anything else. So, my bad – I did get attached. On top of everything else – that English they speak!

Watching the show, I couldn’t help but grind my teeth in envy of the standing mixer, the baking gadgets, the size of the surface they have on the show. Childish, I know, especially that the stuff they had to make was really elaborate most of the time. There is no way I could make something like this doing it only occasionally in my minuscule kitchen, where there is no space for the standing mixer, let alone many baking utensils.

One thing to note, though: they use loads of white flour, white sugar, butter and chocolate. I kind of moved away from white sugar and, mostly, white flour.

So today, I decided to experiment with a light but, hopefully, tasty thing loosely based on the inspiration from Joan Nathan‘s book. She has a Roman crostata there, which I made once and loved, but just to experiment, I wanted to make it lightIMG_4564.JPGer, and also use different flavors.

So for my “crust” I took:

 

One egg

 

About a tablespoon of butter

 

About a tablespoon each oat flour, almond flour and semolina

About 2/3 tablespoons of sugar

I’ve just mixed all of this and put into the glass pie dish smoothing it evenly over the bottom. I poked some holes with a fork and cooled it in the fridge for about 20 minutes. It didn’t look too nice, but that’s not was I was going for.IMG_4565

For the filling I took about 5 tablespoons of Ricotta cheese, one egg, a bit of crushed nuts and about 1/3 cup sugar (I use cane sugar)

All of this was just mixed.

Meanwhile I preheated the oven to 375F and baked my “crust” for about 7 minutes or so.

When I took it out, I folded cranberries and just a few chocolate chunks into my filling.IMG_4566

I’ve spread a little bit of apricot jam on the surface of the crust first, and then I just placed all the filling into the pie dish and smoothed it over with a spatula.

IMG_4568

Baked this beauty for about 50 minutes and voila!

Easy and delicious!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

