Easy, Healthy, Make-Ahead Cabbage Roulette

This Sunday should be a happy day. I am hosting my family for an early brunch. My niece is turning another page on the yearly calendar, and my younger daughter will be in town for a very short stay. I am excited! Since my dad’s passing, I am not able to invite guests, but the family does not need an invitation, right?

Generally, with Shabbat cooking constraints, I regard all recipes ending with “serve immediately” as a potential for my negative emotions. Women like me, working and Shabbat observant will understand. When do we cook, usually? In preparation for Shabbat! And, no matter how good the dish is, it will be served after quite some time, even on a Friday night. We are indeed taught to improvise.So, I was thinking of what to make that I can prepare ahead and quickly heat up. There will not be enough time for everything in the morning. And yesterday, before going to plan my

This time, though, Shabbat was not the reason I had to cook beforehand. And – I have a possibility to reheat it in the oven! So, I was thinking of a dish to make that I can prepare ahead and quickly heat up. There will not be enough time for everything in the morning. And yesterday, before going to plan my

So, I was thinking of what to make that I can prepare ahead and quickly heat up. There will not be enough time for everything in the morning. And yesterday, before going to plan my favorite event of the year – Limmud FSU New York – I started to cook.

First, I decided to make scones since they were so popular a few weeks ago. They can be easily frozen and reheated in a hot oven. All I would need to do later is prepare the lemon sauce.

I decided to make a healthy cabbage roulette as it requires very little dough, and can be easily frozen and reheated in a very hot oven. This is not a very fast recipe, but really easy to make.

For the filling you take:

1 nice and firm head of green cabbage

2 big onions

2 carrots

1 package of baby-bella mushrooms (totally optional)

Olive and / or sunflower oil for frying – about 1/4 cup depending on the amount of filling you have

Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Sweet and hot paprika

A dash of turmeric

Parsley and  / or cilantro to taste

A package of frozen phyllo doughIMG_3840.JPG, thawed in the refrigerator for a few hours or on the countertop for an hour. You can use puff pastry dough for this recipe too, but it will make the roulette quite heavier.

About a tablespoon of melted butter of margarine. I use Earth Balance instead.

I egg and 2-3 tbsp. sesame seeds for the finishing touch.

 

Preparation:

Dice img_3837the cabbage and onion finely, shred the carrots.

In a big pan start frying onion first, add carrots, then cabbage with intervals of about 1-2 minutes stirring the mixture while adding ingredients.

Cook the cabbage mixture for about 5-6 minutes stirring once in a while with a wooden spatula over the relatively high heat.

Meanwhile, dice the mushrooms if using.

Season the cabbage with the spices mentioned, or the ones you prefer and mix well.Remove the

Remove the cabbage to a big bowl.

Add the IMG_3839.JPGmushrooms to the same pan and fry over the high heat until browned seasoning with the same spices as cabbage.

Add the mushrooms to the cabbage and mix nicely. Add the parsley and cilantro finely chopped.

Melt the butter in a bowl.

Take the dough out of the package, but make sure to work relatively fast, and keep the sheets you are not using right at the moment closed with the packaging paper or wax paper.

Place a piece of parchment on a board or the backing sheet you are going to use. Spread one-two sheets of the dough at a time brushing lightly with melted butter. Continue with enough sheets to give you comfort that the dough will not break.

Remember that the less dough you use, the healthier the roulette will be as you only need enouimg_3841gh to hold the filling. I managed to make mine very thin, but you will have to cut the final product very thick so that the filling does not get out.

Put a good amount of filling at one edge of the dough.

Now roll it all the way to the end and close slightly at both ends.

Brush the roulette with the beaten egg and sprinkle sesame seeds all over.

img_3845

 

Bake at 410-415 F depending on your oven for about 15-18 minutes until lightly golden.

You can enjoy it right away, or like me, freeze it until you need to feed your guests. At which point, preheat your oven to about 430 F and heat the roulette for about 5-7 minutes.

 

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

