The Year 5777 is Coming!

Sunday,  יום ראשון , October 2 Jews all over the world will celebrate The New Year – רֹאשׁ הַשָּׁנָה. This year’s number is quite unique – 5777.

Number 7 was always kind of magic in the Jewish world – 7 days of the week, 7 days before the brit milah, 7 branches of the Menora as it says in Exodus 25:32

לב  וְשִׁשָּׁה קָנִים, יֹצְאִים מִצִּדֶּיהָ:  שְׁלֹשָׁה קְנֵי מְנֹרָה, מִצִּדָּהּ הָאֶחָד, וּשְׁלֹשָׁה קְנֵי מְנֹרָה, מִצִּדָּהּ הַשֵּׁנִי.

And there shall be six branches going out of the sides thereof: three branches of the candlestick out of the one side thereof, and three branches of the candlestick out of the other side thereofgolden-menorah-jerusalem-israel-38343694.jpg

Six branches plus a middle one.

There are seven days of the major holidays of Pesach and Sukkot.

At the Jewish wedding, seven brachot are said under the chupah, and for seven days the bride and groom are considered royalty and are treated to lavish meals and blessings within the community.

So, this year just have to be amazing!

I am not sure what’s the significance of 5776, but it wasn’t an easy year for me. I have lost the closest man I had in my life and ended the relationship I shouldn’t have started almost 4 years ago.

I am hoping this Rosh haShana will bring my family and friends calm, joy, health, and happiness. I am especially hopeful that my girls will find what they are looking for on their incredible paths to magic they are creating now with their work, love for people, and generosity. I am hoping my amazing mother will stay with us in good health for years to come.

And … I am hoping for peace. Sounds like the line from the movie about the beauty pageant – “world peace”. I know, I know. However, every day that I hear world news, I come back to this line – not so funny or pathetic anymore.

 

So, here’s to world peace and us trying to achieve it one by one in our own little worlds. Shana Tova!

4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

